chakra balancing
menu bar
feng shui

chakras clouds

The chakras are subtle energies in sensitive neural bundles, nerve plexi. The Sanskrit word for chakra means “wheel of light”. These subtle energies are non-physical, but they influence physical, emotional and mental functioning of our bodies. They are forever changing, balancing and interacting.

As chakras spin, they produce their own electromagnetic field force and the amount of energy produced there determines its robust qualities, or limited energy. When the body is healthy, energy flows evenly thru all the chakras. When there is blockage or reduction of energy, a particular chakra, or a group of chakras will produce less energy.

Many different cultures have known for thousands and thousands of years the existence of chakras – Indian, Native American, Tibetan, ancient Egyptian, and Asian culture through Buddhist philosophy. In the Indian system there are 7 chakras. Tibetan system has 6 chakras.

A chakra balancing treatment can be done by itself or incorporated into another treatment modality session. It can be an Acupuncture treatment, or a Shiatsu treatment, Reiki or Seiki. On the other hand, the chakra balancing can be done exclusively by itself.

chakraIn an Acupuncture treatment, needles can be placed on visible areas of the seven major chakras. And too, Earth Crystals can be used in conjunction with the session. Another treatment format is just to use Earth Crystals placed upon the major chakra centers, as well as in the palm of the hands in order to restore energy balance to the body. One breathes deeply and slowly while in a state of rest and relaxation. The treatment is extremely calming and restorative.

There are seven basic centers starting at the perineum and ending on the crown of the skull referred to as the “lotus chakra”. On our palms and on other joints areas of the body chakras exist. In addition, there are outside of the body in Sanskrit called the “Atman” and “Brahman”, and 122 smaller secondary chakras throughout the body.

Primary and secondary chakras share the same characteristics. Primary chakras run along the spine and secondary chakras usually are found at joints of the body – hips, shoulders, elbows, wrists, hands, feet – each place a bone touches another bone or a nerve plexus exists. Dysfunction in the secondary chakras can affect the efficiency of the entire chakra system.

Characteristics of Chakras - Each chakra is whirling energy in constant motion - Each chakra is spinning and produces its own electromagnetic field force - Each chakra has a specific spin/rotation/magnitude of oscillations - Each chakra sets up patterns of energy - Each chakra has a particular intensity – a function of its “openness”/amount of energy produced there - Each chakra has a particular shape and size - Each chakra has a color dominance - Each chakra relates to a specific area of the body - Each chakra relates to certain postures which enhance dominance of one or more colors - Each chakra relates to a purpose or viewpoint in life, it dictates a particular attitude toward reality - Each chakra relates to an element - Each chakra has a certain number of petals.

The Seven Major Chakras

1st chakraFirst chakra/ Muladhara –means “foundation” – is located at the base of the spine/perineum. It relates to the physical body and holds the energy of life itself; it is responsible for the “physical body”. It roots support and contains the energies for life survival, dominance,ambition, vitality, as well as the concept of original ideas/grounded attitude/steadiness of mind. Its endocrine gland is the reproductive organs.

2nd chakraSecond chakra/Svadistana – means “sweetness” – is located below the navel/lower abdomen and sacral region. It relates to the emotional body – all emotions process here; it is responsible for the “feeling body”, as well as the creative impulse and the ability “to go with the flow”. Its endocrine gland is Peyers Patches which are located in the appendix and interstitial cells of the intestinal wall. They play an important role in our immune system.

3rd chakraThird chakra/Manipura – means “city of gems” – is located at the solar plexus. It relates to“opinions”, our thoughts and judgments originate here. Our ability to adapt and transform is based here. Its endocrine gland is the adrenal glands which also includes the pancreas.

4th chakraFourth chakra/Anahata – means “unstuck” – is located at mid-sternum, “heart” chakra. It represents our level of consciousness where transformations and transpersonal experiences take place. It is the place for our ability to love and have compassion. Its endocrine gland is the thymus.

5th chakraFifth chakra/Vishuddha – means “pure” – is located at the throat. It relates to our power of speech and self-expression, knowledge of knowing when it is the perfect time to do a particular thing. Its endocrine gland is the thyroid.

6 chakraSixth chakra/Ajña – means “command” – is located between the eyebrows – the “third eye”. It relates to our ability “to see the light”. This chakra is connected with our ability to receive insight, intuition and inspiration on a higher level. Its endocrine glands are pineal, pituitary and hypothalamus glands.

7 chakraSeventh chakra/Sahasrara – means “thousand petals” – is located at the crown of the head, and is referred to as the “lotus chakra”. This chakra is connected with Spiritual Insight/Enlightenment which resonates with the Universal Presence of the Divine and it controls and influences all areas of consciousness known as “spiritual realm”. There is no endocrine gland associated here.

A Testimony - “I have known Laila Wah since 1981. I have found her to be kind and professional in her practice and she has exhibited high level of excellence in the area of Oriental Medicine. When I have seen her for treatments, Acupuncture and Shiatsu, I always look forward to seeing her and always I leave feeling much better! Her technique in giving Acupuncture is painless and done in a warm and supportive environment. She is truly gifted in the science and art of Acupuncture, Shiatsu and Oriental Medicine.” – Jeffrey Cohen

The best medicine is prevention. This is linked to diet and habitual behavior.” – His Holiness the XIV Dali Lama

Laila Wah, OMD   267-306-0143  

[ Home ]  [ Acupuncture ]  [ Wah-Atsu Amma ]  [ Herbology ]  [ Chakra Balancing ]  [ Services ]  [ Blog ]  [ Contact ] 

facebook logo  Visit me on Facebook                Visit my Feng Shui Website at